Leader/expert comments

Apr 05, 2013



Leaders of global and national NGOs, scientists, pediatricians, academics, and policymakers have issued statements to support the implementation of the GAPPD framework. To read through leader statements categorized by region, click the links below or to the left.


To access the full list of leader statements, click here (PDF, 160 KB).



Dr. Koki Agarwal, Director, Maternal & Child Health Integrated Program (MCHIP)

Dr. Greg Allgood, Director and Founder, Proctor & Gamble Children’s Safe Drinking Water Programme

Dr. Seth Berkley, CEO of the GAVI Alliance

Dr. Thomas Brewer, Deputy Director on the Enteric and Diarrheal Diseases team at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

John Cahill, CEO, McCann Health

Raymond Chambers, United Nations Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Financing of the Health Related Millennium Development Goals and for Malaria

Dr. Ciro A. de Quadros, Executive Vice President of the Sabin Vaccine Institute and Co-chair of the Rotavirus Organization of Technical Allies (ROTA) Council

Michael Elliott, President and CEO, The ONE Campaign

Dr. William Foege, Professor of International Health, Emory University and Gates Fellow

Rana Hajjeh, Director, Division of Bacterial Diseases, US Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Karl Hofmann, President and CEO, PSI

Dr. William Keenan, Executive Director of the International Paediatric Association

Ban Ki-moon, Secretary-General,  UN

Dr. Jim Yong Kim, President, World Bank

Don Lindsay, President and CEO of Teck Resources

      Venkatesh Mannar, President, The Micronutrient Initiative.

Dr. Thomas K. McInerny, MD, FAAP, President, American Academy of Paediatrics

Mandy Moore, singer-songwriter/actress; Global Ambassador for PSI

Dr. Tony Nelson, Professor of Paediatrics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong KongDr. Mathuram Santosham, Professor of International Health and Paediatrics at the John Hopkins School of Public Health and co-chair of the ROTA Council

Paul Polman, CEO, Unilever

Dr. Hans Rosling, Professor of Global Health at the Karolinska Institutet, Statistician, co-founder of the Gapminder Foundation

Dr. Anne Schuchat, Assistant Surgeon General, US Public Health Service and Acting Director, US CDC

Cynthia G. Whitney, Branch Chief, Respiratory Diseases, US CDC

Andrew Witty, CEO, GlaxoSmithKline



Dr. George Armah, Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor, University of Ghana, Ghana

       Dr. Roma Chilengi, Country Lead, Absolute Return for Kids, Zambia

       Dr. Chris Elemuwa, National Pneumonia Focal Point, National Primary Health Care Development Agency (NPHCDA), Nigeria

 Dr. Dorothy Esangbedo, President-elect of the Union of National African Paediatric Societies and Associations and Immediate Past President of the Paediatric Society of   Nigeria, Nigeria

       Tayo Fariogun, Executive Director, Health and Sustainable Development Association, Nigeria

Dr. Shabir Madhi, Executive Director, The National Institute for Communicable Diseases, Division of NHLS, South Africa

      Dr. Ado Jimada Gana Muhammad, Executive Director/CEO, NPHCDA, Nigeria

Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Chairman, Senate Committee on Health, Nigeria

Professor Adebiyi Olowu, President, Paediatric Association of Nigeria

Dr. Samba Ousmane Sow, Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Mali

Dr. Oyewale Tomori, President, Nigerian Academy of Science, Nigeria

Professor Fred Were, President, Eastern African Paediatric Association, Kenya



Dr. Shams El Arifeen, Director, The Centre for Child and Adolescent Health at ICDDR,B, Bangladesh

Dr. Lulu Bravo, Professor of Paediatric Infectious and Tropical Diseases, University of the Philippines, Philippines

Professor Eng Hout, Secretary of State, Ministry of Health, Cambodia

Dr. Gagandeep Kang, Professor and Head, Wellcome Trust Research Laboratory, Division of Gastrointestinal Sciences, Christian Medical College, India

Dr. Tony Nelson, Professor of Paediatrics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Dr. Samir Saha, Executive Director, The Child Health Research Foundation and Professor, Dhaka Shishu Hospital, Bangladesh

Dr. Naveen Thacker, President-elect, Asia Pacific Paediatric Association and Standing Committee Member, International Paediatric Association, India

      Dr. Yonghong Yang, Professor of Pediatrics, Beijing Children’s Hospital